Definition of Fashion… To me

To some fashion is a trend,  colorful dresses, or something extravagant you wear on special events. To me fashion is a form of art and self expression/ creativity. Rei Kawakubo, the designer for Comme Des Garçons, is one of those brands that truly mixes fashion and art into one. Not many brands, nor designers has mastered the art. Uniqlo has a a line called Sprz. They take art work from famous artist like, Jean Michel Basquiat, Piet Mondrian, Kieth Haring and just puts it on the shirt. The shirt cost $15 each and I love what they’re doing. I bought about 6 shirts and every shirt is something you wouldn’t expect. That is one of the things I look for when I go shopping. Does someone else have this and will someone else buy this. Fashion and art collaborating isn’t the first time this happened. Saint Laurent did a collaboration with Piet Mondrian, CDG with Matt Groening, and much more. Even though some of the pieces cost more than a new car I try to look for something similar and hope to be inspired by for my future clothing line. If I do grow my clothing empire, I hope to work with Bansky or Harif Guzman.                                                        Image result for piet mondrian yslImage result for fendi karl lagerfeld art

Leave a Reply

