Milan: The Source of Fashion Inspiration

Milan is a city in Northern Italy and is known as the fashion capital of the world. It also happens to be where I celebrated my most recent birthday. Fashion is around every corner in Milan. You see it modeled in storefronts and on people. Even in the airport, the Italians don’t wear sweats. The most casually dressed Italians tended to wear jeans with leather sneakers. I noticed many Nikes in colors and varieties unavailable in the U.S.

The most noticeable trend embraced in Milan was neck scarves. I personally bought one myself. I love them so much that I wish I could start a collection of them. The way scarves are used in Italy is different from how they’re used in the U.S. In the U.S, we often use scarves to keep us warm. American scarves vary in material– some are knitted wool or acrylic, while others are tightly woven silk or pashmina. In Italy, scarves are made of patterned silk and often worn to make a fashion statement. The scarves are small squares and Italian women tend to wear them knotted at the neck. Because of the scarves’ small size, they can’t be worn as a headband.

Milan also has some undesirable elements. It seemed stylish for teenagers in Milan to smoke cigarettes. I mean their clothes looked great, but they always had a cigarette in hand. Tiny dogs are popular pets in Milan and they can be seen all over running around without a leash. While in Milan, I witnessed a marathon, and people in the crowd were holding dogs dressed in costumes and wearing marathon numbers.

Despite the crime and the creepy pigeons and stray cats, I looked past all of that and focused on Milan’s fashion. -TN

Leave a Reply

